Managing your active and draft checkout configurations

You can create multiple versions of your checkout, thank you, order status, and customer accounts pages and save them as drafts. Draft configurations let you try different apps and branding before you make them active. You can also customize, set up, and test draft configurations prior to seasonal sales or BFCM to make sure that your checkout is ready for any high-peak periods.

Stores on the Shopify Plus plan can have up to 99 draft configurations and stores on Basic, Grow, and Advanced plans can have up to 20 draft configurations.

You can view, rename, duplicate, and publish your configurations. Your active and draft configuration names aren't displayed to your customers.

If you want to customize any of your configurations, then refer to Customizing your configurations and Customizing the style of your checkout.

Managing your active configurations

You can view, rename, and duplicate your active configurations. You can have only 1 active configuration at a time that has real customer traffic. You can't delete the active configuration.

View your active configuration

You can view how your active configuration is displayed to your customers.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Configurations section, click Menu next to your active configuration, and then click View.

Rename your active configuration

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Configurations section, click Menu next to your active configuration, and then click Rename.

  3. Enter the name of your configuration, and then click Save.

Duplicate your active configuration

When you duplicate your active checkout and accounts configuration, a new draft configuration is created.

If you already have a draft configuration and you duplicate your active configuration, then your duplicate configuration is indicated as Just added.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Configurations section, click Menu next to your active configuration, and then click Duplicate.

Managing your draft configurations

You can publish, preview, rename, duplicate, and delete your draft configurations.

Publish your draft configurations

When you publish your draft configurations, you replace your current active configuration. Your active configuration becomes a draft configuration.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Drafts section, click Publish next to the draft configuration that you want to publish.

  3. Click Publish.

Preview your draft configuration

You can preview how your draft checkout is displayed to your customers.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Drafts section, click Menu next to the draft configuration that you want to preview, and then click Preview.

Rename your draft configuration

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Drafts section, click Menu next to the draft configuration that you want to rename.

  3. Enter the new name of your configuration, and then click Save.

Duplicate your draft configuration

When you duplicate your draft configuration, your newest duplicate configuration is indicated as Just added.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Drafts section, click Menu next to the draft configurations that you want to duplicate, and then click Duplicate.

Delete your draft configuration

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Drafts section, click Menu next to the draft configurations that you want to delete, and then click Delete.

  3. Click Delete.

Rolling out a draft configuration

A rollout is a scheduled set of changes that can include publishing a draft checkout configuration. You can apply the changes immediately or schedule them for a specific time, and choose whether to revert them or apply them permanently when the rollout ends. During a rollout, your draft configuration is displayed to a portion of your visitors instead of your active configuration. The portion of visitors depends on the type of rollout that you use.

Before you start, review the requirements and considerations for using rollouts, including plan availability and the permissions that your staff need.

Add a draft configuration to an existing rollout

You can add a draft configuration to an existing rollout. When your draft is added to a rollout, it is displayed in a new Rollouts section.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Drafts section, click Caret Down next to the draft configuration that you want to add to an existing rollout.

  3. In the Add to rollout menu, click the rollout that you want to add the configuration to.

  4. Optional: In the Edit rollout dialog, make any changes to the updated rollout.

  5. Click Save.

Remove a draft configuration from a rollout

You can remove a draft checkout configuration from a rollout. When a draft configuration is removed from a rollout, it's displayed in the Drafts section again.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Checkout.

  2. In the Rollouts section, click the name of the rollout above the draft configuration that you want to remove.

  3. In the Edit rollout dialog, go to the Changes in this rollout section and then click Delete next to the draft configuration to remove it.

  4. Click Save.