Managing roles

You can create a new role, edit or delete an existing role, and assign and remove roles for users.

One or multiple roles can be assigned a user. This means that you can accurately and uniformly change user permissions through their role and reduce instances where a user is accidentally given permissions that aren't part of their job.

Considerations for managing roles

Review the following considerations for managing roles:

Create a role for your Partner organization

You can create custom roles with the permissions that each staff member needs for to perform specific tasks in your Shopify admin.

Steps:

  1. From your Partner Dashboard, go to Organization.

  2. Click Roles.

  3. Click Add role.

  4. Select a role category.

  5. In the Name section, enter a name for the role.

  6. In the Description section, enter a description for the role.

  7. In the Permissions section, select the role category if available, and then select the permissions that you want the role to have.

  8. Optional: Depending on the role category, you can also select Apps permissions. In the App permissions section, select any apps the role can access.

  9. Click Save.

Duplicate a role for your Partner organization

You can duplicate the permissions for existing roles that aren't managed by Shopify.

Steps:

  1. From your Partner Dashboard, go to Organization.

  2. Click Roles.

  3. Click the role that you want to duplicate.

  4. Click Actions > Duplicate.

  5. In the Name section, enter a new name for the duplicated role.

  6. Optional: Make any of the following changes:

    • In the Description section, update the copied description.
    • In the Permissions section, select or deselect permissions.
  7. Click Save.

Edit a role for your Partner organization

You can edit the permissions for existing roles that aren't managed by Shopify.

If you have multiple role categories available, then you can't change the role category of a role after it's been created. Instead, create a new role.

Steps:

  1. From your Partner Dashboard, go to Organization.

  2. Click Roles.

  3. Click the role that you want to edit.

  4. Make any of the following changes:

    • In the Name section, enter a new name.
    • In the Description section, enter a new description.
    • In the Permissions section, select or deselect permissions.
  5. Click Save.

Delete a role for your Partner organization

You can delete any predefined roles or roles that you create. You can't delete roles that are managed by Shopify.

Steps:

  1. From your Partner Dashboard, go to Organization.

  2. Click Roles.

  3. Click the role that you want to delete.

  4. Click Actions, and then click Delete.

  5. Click Delete role to confirm. This action can't be undone.

  6. Click Save.