Adding a customer's online cart items to the Shopify POS cart
When a customer shops on your online store and adds items to their cart, they might proceed to the online checkout without completing the purchase. If the customer enters their email address during checkout and the checkout remains incomplete for 10 minutes, then an abandoned checkout is created.
When an abandoned checkout is created, staff can view a compiled list of products in Shopify POS called an online cart. After the customer's email address is added to the Shopify POS cart, an "Items in online cart" note displays. Staff can ask customers about the products in their online cart, and then add products to their Shopify POS cart if the customer wants to purchase them in the store.
On this page
Considerations for adding online cart items to the Shopify POS cart
Before adding items from a customer's online cart to the Shopify POS cart, review the following considerations:
- Online carts in Shopify POS expire within 90 days of creation, or 30 days from their last update.
- Adding items to the Shopify POS cart doesn't mark the abandoned checkout in the Shopify admin as completed or close it.
- The abandoned checkout stays open until expiry, so the "Items in online cart" note continues to display after the customer purchases the items in store. No further action is required in Shopify POS after the items are purchased.
Add items from a customer's online cart to a Shopify POS cart
Shopify POS displays up to three products from the customer's online cart, and you can tap View all to open the full compiled list. You can add as many products from the list to your Shopify POS cart as you want.
Steps:
- From Shopify POS, add the customer's email address to the cart.
- To view the items in the online cart, tap the customer in the cart.
- Optional: To view all products in the online cart, tap View all.
- To add online cart items to the Shopify POS cart, tap the
icon on iPad or the Cart button on mobile.
If a staff member searches for a customer in Shopify POS when another customer is already added to the cart, then the staff member can tap the icon on iPad or the Cart button on mobile, and then tap Save cart and switch customer. This clears the previous customer from the cart. The staff member can then add the new customer and their online cart items.