Disconnecting from retailers on the Shopify Collective sales channel

You can disconnect from a retailer in your Shopify Collective sales channel if you decide to end your partnership. When you disconnect from a retailer, they're notified by email that your stores are no longer connected. Disconnecting from retailers stop product syncing with them.

Before disconnecting from a retailer, contact them to discuss any payments that are owed for fulfilled orders, and to agree on how you handle any unfulfilled orders.

Considerations for disconnecting from retailers

Before disconnecting from a retailer in your Shopify Collective sales channel, review the following considerations:

  • Disconnecting from a retailer immediately breaks the connection between your Shopify stores. The retailer is notified by email.
  • In the retailer's Shopify store, all products that they imported from you have their inventory set to 0.
  • You should contact the retailer to discuss any unfulfilled orders, or you can cancel unfulfilled orders in your Shopify admin.
  • Order syncing stops within a few minutes after you disconnect from a retailer, and if tracking numbers are added to orders, then these also don't sync.
  • Payments for fulfilled orders aren't affected, and refunds can still be processed.

Getting paid after a partnership ends

New orders can't be created with a disconnected retailer, but there might still be existing orders that you've not yet been paid for. How you get paid for these orders depends on your payment settings in the Shopify Collective sales channel, and the individual arrangement that you have with retailers.

If automatic payments are activated with a retailer

If you use automatic payments with a retailer, then after you disconnect from them, you continue to be paid automatically by them for orders that you've fulfilled.

Any unfulfilled orders that you proceed with after the retailer is disconnected aren't paid for automatically. Before shipping unfulfilled orders, be sure to agree on a manual payment method and terms with the retailer.

If automatic payments are deactivated with a retailer

If you don't use automatic payments with a retailer, then after you disconnect from them, continue to manually collect payments from them for all previously fulfilled orders. Manual payment collection also applies to any unfulfilled orders that you agree to ship after your partnership on Collective ends.

Disconnect from a retailer

If you want to end a partnership on Shopify Collective, then you can disconnect from a retailer. When you disconnect, you can also optionally send a report about any misconduct that you might have encountered.

After you disconnect from a retailer, you can still view their contact details and your orders and sales metrics in the Archive tab of your Retailers page in the Shopify Collective sales channel.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Sales channels > Collective: Supplier.

  2. Click Retailers.

  3. From the Connected tab, click or select the retailer that you want to disconnect from.

  4. Click Disconnect retailer

  5. Optional: If you want to send a report to the Collective team about the retailer, select Report retailer for misconduct, and then enter a message.

  6. Click Disconnect.