Disconnecting from suppliers in the Shopify Collective app

You can disconnect from a supplier in your Shopify Collective app if you decide to end your partnership. When you disconnect from a supplier, they're notified by email that your stores are no longer connected. Disconnecting from suppliers stops product syncing with them.

It's good practice to contact suppliers before disconnecting from them, so that you can discuss payments that are owed for fulfilled orders, and to agree how you handle any unfulfilled orders.

Considerations for disconnecting from suppliers

Before disconnecting from a supplier in your Shopify Collective app, review the following considerations:

  • Disconnecting from a supplier immediately breaks the connection between your Shopify stores. The supplier is notified by email.
  • For products that you imported from the supplier, one of the following takes place depending on how you handle unavailable products in your product policy:
    • Product inventory is set to 0.
    • Products are set to draft status.
    • Products are permanently deleted from your store.
  • No new orders can be created with the disconnected supplier, and they might cancel any unfulfilled orders.
  • Order syncing stops within a few minutes after disconnecting from a supplier, and if tracking numbers are added to orders, then these also don't sync.
  • Payments for fulfilled orders aren't affected, and refunds can still be processed.

Paying a supplier after a partnership ends

New orders can't be created with a disconnected supplier, but there might still be existing orders that you've not yet paid for. How you pay for these orders depends on your payment settings in the Shopify Collective app, and the individual arrangement that you have with the supplier.

If automatic payments are activated with a supplier

If you pay the supplier using automatic payments, then after you disconnect from them, automatic payments continue for orders that they previously fulfilled.

Any unfulfilled orders that you proceed with need to be paid for manually. Be sure to agree on a payment method and terms with the disconnected supplier.

If automatic payments are deactivated with a supplier

If you don't use automatic payments with the supplier, then after you disconnect from them, continue to pay for all previously fulfilled orders using your agreed manual payment method and terms.

Disconnect from a supplier

If you want to end a partnership on Shopify Collective, then you can disconnect from a supplier. When you disconnect, you can also send a report about any fraudulent practices or misconduct that you might have encountered.

After you disconnect from a supplier, you can still view their contact details and your orders and sales metrics in the Archive tab of your Suppliers page in the Shopify Collective app.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Collective.

  2. Click Suppliers.

  3. From the Connected tab, click or select the supplier that you want to disconnect from.

  4. Click Disconnect supplier

  5. Optional: If you want to send a report to the Collective team about the supplier, select Report supplier for misconduct, and then enter a message.

  6. Click Disconnect.