Sidekick memory and personalization

Sidekick remembers information from your conversations to provide personalized support. As you interact with Sidekick, its responses become more relevant and personalized to your store, so you can spend less time repeating context. Sidekick learns the following types of information over time:

  • Explicit preferences: When you tell Sidekick specific information about yourself or your preferences, Sidekick remembers it for future conversations.
  • Past conversations: Sidekick can recall previous interactions, so you can pick up where you left off. If you discussed a topic last week, then you can reference it naturally without explaining the full context again.
  • Implicit personal preferences: As you work with Sidekick, it learns how you prefer to receive information and adapts its responses to match your style. This happens automatically based on your interactions over time.
  • Recent activity: Sidekick can refer to what you were recently doing in your Shopify admin. For example, you edit a product, then open Sidekick. Sidekick might mention that you were just working on a product, so you don't need to explain what you were doing.

Considerations for Sidekick memory

Before you use Sidekick memory, review the following considerations:

  • Sidekick remembers conversations from Sidekick chat in your Shopify admin. Conversations with Sidekick in the theme editor aren't added to Sidekick's memory.
  • To continue work from the theme editor in Sidekick chat, include the details in your new question.
  • Sidekick remembers your past conversations for about 3 months.
  • Sidekick can refer to your recent activity in your Shopify admin from about the last 12 hours. Older activity isn't available to Sidekick.
  • If you turn off memory for a conversation, then Sidekick doesn't use your stored information or your recent activity in that conversation.

Access Sidekick chat history

Sidekick stores your chat history across browser sessions. You can access a list of previous conversations in the following ways:

  • From the Sidekick chat window, click the conversation title in the chat selector.
  • From your Shopify admin, go to Sidekick Conversations.

From the conversation list, you can search by keyword to find specific conversations.

Turn off memory for a Sidekick conversation

If you don't want Sidekick to access your stored information or save new details from a conversation, then you can turn off memory. When memory is off, Sidekick still responds to your questions but doesn't recall past preferences, doesn't refer to your recent activity, and doesn't store anything new from the current conversation.

After you turn off memory for a conversation, you can't turn it back on for the same conversation. To start a new conversation with memory on, close the current conversation and start a new one.

Steps:

Desktop
  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Sidekick, or click the Sidekick icon.

  2. Click the Toggle-On icon to turn off memory features.

Mobile
  1. From the Shopify app, go to any page in your store and tap the Sidekick icon.

  2. In the chat window, tap the Plus icon.

  3. Beside Memory, tap the Toggle-On icon to turn off memory features.

Manage stored information

You can update or remove information that Sidekick has stored at any time. To review what Sidekick remembers, ask for a summary in any conversation. If you want Sidekick to forget specific details, then ask it directly and Sidekick will confirm the changes.

This applies to your saved preferences and your conversations. Your recent admin activity isn't part of Sidekick's saved memory, so it isn't included in a summary. Sidekick can refer to your recent activity for about 12 hours, and then it's no longer available. If you don't want Sidekick to refer to your recent activity in a conversation, then you can turn off memory.

Rename a Sidekick conversation

You can rename a Sidekick conversation to make it easier to find later in your chat history.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Sidekick conversations, or go to Sidekick and select a previous conversation.

  2. Click the Menu options icon icon for the conversation that you want to rename.

  3. Click Rename, and then enter a new title for the conversation.

Delete a Sidekick conversation

You can delete a Sidekick conversation at any time. Deleting a conversation removes it from your chat history and from Sidekick's memory of previous interactions. Your saved preferences aren't changed.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Sidekick conversations, or go to Sidekick and select a previous conversation.

  2. Click the Menu options icon icon for the conversation that you want to delete.

  3. Click Delete.